Clicking element doesn't fire click event

Hi I’m new to canjs, I have tried the examples in the chat guide in JsBin and they work fine. The problem comes when I try to run them in my own development environment.

I’ve tried many ways:

• Using webpack with es6, stage-2 presets enabled, and requiring the template with raw-loader.

• Using webpack without presets but requiring the template with raw-loader

• Using webpack without presets but the template as a string pasted inside the js file.

var DefineMap = require(‘can-define/map/map’);
    var stache = require(‘can-stache’);

var AppVM = DefineMap.extend({
    type: ‘string’,
    value: ‘Chat Home’,
    serialize: false
    },
    addExcitement: function(){
    this.message = this.message + ‘!’;
    }
    });

var appVM = new AppVM();

template = stache(require(‘…/src/canjs/template.hbs’));
    var frag = template(appVM);

document.body.appendChild(frag);
    appVM.addExcitement(); //this works
    document.getElementById(‘click-this’).click(); //this doesn’t, neither clicking the element in the browser.

template.hbs

<div class="container">
  <div class="row">
    <div class="col-sm-8 col-sm-offset-2">
      <h1 id="click-this" class="page-header text-center" ($click)="addExcitement()" >
        {{message}}
      </h1>
    </div>
  </div>
</div>

It works fine in jsBin:

This is almost the same code.

Just to clarify, the webpack example doesn’t call addExcitement() when you click the h1?

We’ll check it out today hopefully.

What browser are you using and version of webpack?

Hi @DrecDroid, I’m sorry it’s not working for you, but we should be able to sort it out.

Which version of webpack are you using? Any chance your setup is in a GitHub repo that I could check out?

Webpack version is 1.14.0.
Browser : Chrome 55.0.2883.87 m.

I can call the ViewModel method and the {{message}} is modified in the view. But when I click the h1 the click method is not called.